Harimohan Ghose

Harimohan Ghosh College, Working Days and Holidays

Every college shall abide by the pattern of holidays and recess as may be determined by the University from time to time. During the recess only the classes of the students will remain suspended. The number of working days in a college shall be at least 200 in an academic year. Academic Session of a college shall commence on 1st day of July of every year and end on 30th June of the following year. An academic session shall be divided into different terms as follows:-

1) FIRST TERM: The first term of a college shall commence on the 1st day of July of every year and shall close on the day from which the Puja holidays commence. The puja holidays shall be for 24 days commencing from Durga Sasthi and ending on the day of Kali Puja.

2) SECOND TERM: The second term shall commence from the date of re-opening of the college after the Puja Vacation and shall continue till 24th day of December of every year. The Winter Recess shall be for a period of 8 days commencing on 24th December every year and ending on 1st January of the year following it.

3) THRID TERM: The third term shall commence from 2nd January every year and shall continue till 15th May every year. The Summer Recess shall commence on 16th May and shall end on 30th June every year.

C.U. Rules Regarding Class Attendance: (MOST IMPORTANT)

All students and their guardians are hereby advised to strictly follow the C.U. rules regarding class attendance and the categories are as follows

Regular Category 75% and above
Non-Collegiate Category Below 75% but above 60%
Dis-Collegiate Category Below 60%.

Dis-Collegiate students are not allowed to appear in the University Examinations under any circumstances. Their student-ship thus stand cancelled. The college authority has to submit the subject-wise report of the student attendance to the University after every two months.

Occasion Days
English New Year 1
Fateha Dohaz Daham 1
Netaji Jayanti


University Foundation Day 1
Republic Day 1
Independence Day 1
Gandhi Jayanti 1
Id-Ul-Fitr 1
Id-Uz-Zoha 1
May Day 1
Rabindra Jayanti 1
Muharram 1
Good Friday 1
Easter Saturday 1
Christmas 1
Guru Nanak Jayanti 1
Buddha Purnima 1
Chaitra Sankranti 1
Rathajatra 1
Saraswati Puja 2
Mahalaya 1
Bhatridwitiya 1
Janmastami 1
Jagadhatri Puja 1
Puja Holidays (From Durga Shasti to Kali Puja) 24
Poila Baishak 1
College Foundation 1
Principal's Discretion 5
Total - 56